Home / About the committees / Northern B HDEC

Northern B Health and Disability Ethics Committee


Full name: Northern B Health and Disability Ethics Committee

Short name: Northern B HDEC

Abbreviation: NTB

OHRP ref: IRB00008715


Terms of Reference

Download Northern B Terms of Reference (Word 395, KB)

Membership and attendance

No meetings were postponed or cancelled due to inability to make quorum. Two members joined the Committee during 2014.


Mrs Kate O’Connor (Chair)

Kate O'Connor is the Chair of Northern B HDEC. She is currently Executive Secretary of the AUT Ethics Committee. She has held positions as a Senior Research Contracts Specialist in AUT's Research Office, as a Research Contracts Manager for Uni Services Ltd, and was Secretary for the University of Auckland's Human Participants Ethics Committee, and the Biological Safety Committee. She has Master of Arts in Philosophy and a Post Graduate Diploma in Business. Kate and her husband live in rural South Auckland.

Mrs Maliaga Erick

Membership category: Consumer / Community Representative
Date of appointment: 24 July 2015
Current term expires: 24 July 2018

Maliaga Erick is currently working for the Werry Centre Child and Adolescent mental health workforce development as a Pacific Clinical Advisor. She is a mother of seven children and a grandmother of 12 grandchildren. She has in the past been on School Board of Trustees and non-government agencies. Mali has a background in the Care and Protection of children, Family violence, and Mental Health and Pacific health research projects.

Miss Tangihaere MacFarlane

Membership category: Consumer/Community Perspectives
Date of appointment: 20 May 2017
Current term expires: 19 May 2020

Miss Macfarlane (Te Arawa, Ngāti Whakaue, Ngāti Pikiao, Ngāti Rangiwewehi) is Quality and Risk Manager, Complaints Officer and Privacy Officer at Te Roopu Taurima O Manukau Trust (2011 – present).  She has previously held positions on the Lakes District Health Board Community & Public Health Advisory Committee (2001 – 2007), Te Kotahitanga o Te Arawa Fisheries Trust (2004 – 2013), and Te Roopu Hauora o Te Arawa Trust (2001 – 2007).  Miss Macfarlane has completed a Bachelor of Health Science (2007) and a Diploma in Māori Business (2004), among other studies.

Mrs Stephanie Pollard

Membership category:Intervention Studies
Date of appointment: 14 December 2015
Current term expires: 14 December 2018

Mrs Stephanie Pollard is currently employed as an independent Clinical Research Consultant. With a 20 year career in clinical trials she specialises in oncology trials and previously held Research Manager roles at the University of Auckland (2007-2011) and University of Leeds, UK (1996-2006). She obtained a Master’s degree in Healthcare Ethics and Law in 2005.

John Hancock

Membership category: Lay/Law
Date of appointment: 14 December 2015,
Current term expires:14 December 2018

John is currently a Senior Legal Adviser at the Human Rights Commission. Prior to that, he was Principal Adviser (Legal) at the Office of the Children’s Commission. He practiced for many years as a Youth Advocate in the Auckland Youth Court and was the senior supervising solicitor at YouthLaw, a community law centre that provides a free legal service for people aged under 25. He also has extensive experience in civil society advocacy and law reform work, international human rights reporting and has served on Ministerial committees and the boards of non-government organisations.

Dr Nora Lynch

Membership category: Intervention Studies
Date of appointment: 24 July 2015
Current term expires: 24 July 2018

Nora Lynch trained as a physician specialising in rheumatology and worked in clinical medicine in Auckland for over 35 years. She gained a Master of Medicine during which she ran an intervention trial and has also been involved in several observational research projects. She holds a postgraduate certificate in Public Health (Effective Practice). She has served as President of the NZ Rheumatology Association and as a member of the Rheumatology Advisory Subcommittee to PTAC. She currently chairs a charitable trust which provides companionship and morning activities for the elderly. Nora is married with three adult children. She has been a member of Northern B since 2015.

Mrs Jane Wylie

Membership category:

Intervention Studies/Non intervention
Date of appointment: 19 May 2017
Current term expires:19 May 2020

Jane Wylie was originally a Medical Laboratory Scientist, and after raising a family and completing a DipSocSci (Massey 1994) she returned to work in 2001 as New Zealand Coordinator for an Australasian research consortium into familial breast cancer. In 2006 she moved to clinical trials work for the Haematology Research Unit at Auckland Hospital, acting as Team Leader for several years, and then in 2014 to new trials development and quality management in Cancer Trials New Zealand at the University of Auckland. During these years she obtained a MHSc(Hons) with post-grad. studies in medical ethics, health law, research design and cancer therapies. Most recently Jane has been a Research Project Manager at the University of Auckland of studies investigating molecular profiling in blood cancers. Jane also held a part-time research consultancy facilitating projects across a range of health disciplines (2005-2012). Other roles include secondment to the NZ Health Innovation Hub (2012), and she currently serves on the Auckland Health Research Ethics Committee (AHREC) under the Auckland Academic Health Alliance and is a member of several health professional organisations.

Mrs Leesa Russell

Membership category: Intervention Studies
Date of appointment: 14 December 2015
Current term expires: 14 December 2018

Mrs Leesa Russell is Clinical Audit Manager at St John (2014 – present).  Prior to this she was Process Manager and Extended Storage Co-ordinator at Fertility Associates. She has a Masters and a Bachelors degree in Sociology from the University of Auckland.