Full name: Southern Health and Disability Ethics Committee

Short name: Southern HDEC

Abbreviation: STH

OHRP(external link) ref: IRB00008713


Terms of reference

Download Southern Committee Terms of Reference [DOCX, 181 KB]

Membership and attendance

No meetings were postponed or cancelled due to inability to make quorum.

Mr Anthony Fallon (Chair)

Membership category: Lay (Consumer/Community Perspectives)
Date of appointment: 13 August 2021
Current term expires: 13 August 2024

Anthony (Tony)  is currently the Chair of the Southern HDEC, Chair of the New Zealand AIDS Foundation, a Trustee of the Needle Exchange Services Trust, and Chair of the Drug Injectecting Services in Canterbury Trust. Tony is a graduate of Trinity College, Dublin and practised as a Radiation Therapist before pursuing a career in health management. He is currently the Development and Central Services Manager of Nova Trust, a leading alcohol and drug rehabilitation service provider, and previously worked across a number of departments at Canterbury Distict Health Board since his arrival in New Zealand. 

Dr Sarah Gunningham

Membership category: Lay (Intervention Studies)
Date of appointment: 5 July 2019
Current term expires: 5 July 2022

Sarah is currently a Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Otago (2008-present). Prior to this, she was an Assistant Research Fellow and PhD student at the University of Otago (1996-2008). Sarah completed a PhD at the University of Otago (2008), a Master of Science at the University of Otago (2003), and a Bachelor of Science at the University of West of England (1995). She was registered as a General Nurse at Royal United Hospital (1982) and worked as a nurse from 1982-1996, completing a Diploma of Nursing at London University (1986) and Certificates of Teaching and Assessing in Clinical Practice (1989), and General Intensive Care (1987) at the Bristol and Weston School of Nursing.

Sarah has published one book, refereed 15 journal articles, and presented papers at six conference proceedings.

Associate Professor Mira Harrison-Woolrych

Membership category: Non-Lay (Intervention/Observational Studies)
Date of appointment: 13 August 2021
Current term expires: 12 August 2022

Mira is the former director of the Intensive Medicines Monitoring Programme for the Department of Preventative and Social Medicine, University of Otago. She has extensive research experience in pharmacovigilance and pharmacoepidemiology and is a former member of the executive of the International Society of Pharmacovigilence (2009-2012) and the Medicines Assessment Advisory Committee (2003-2011).

Mira holds a Bachelor of Medicine (1989), Doctor of Medicine (1995) University of Southhampton, and is a Fellow of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists.

Dr Devonie Waaka

Membership category: Non-Lay (Intervention Studies)
Date of appointment: 13 August 2021
Current term expires: 12 August 2022

Devonie graduated in medicine from the University of Otago in 1996. She worked as a medical registrar for a number of years, developing an interest in nephrology and rheumatology, before joining an early phase clinical trials unit as a research physician in 2004. Over the past decade, she has been involved in the planning and implementation of numerous early phase trials in New Zealand and Australia.

In 2011, Devonie completed a Master of Medical Science in Drug Development from the University of New South Wales. In addition to her clinical duties, Devonie has been on the teaching staff for the Pharmaceutical Medicine and Drug Development Master Program, University of New South Wales (2012-present).

Dr Paul Chin

Membership category: Non-Lay (Intervention Studies)
Date of appointment: 5 July 2019
Current term expires: 27 October 2021

Paul is a clinical pharmacologist, employed as a Senior Lecturer at the University of Otago, Christchurch and Senior Medical Officer at Canterbury District Health Board, New Zealand. He is also a qualified general physician, and completed a PhD in pharmacokinetic aspects of gentamicin and dabigatran in 2014. His research interests include therapeutic drug monitoring (including continuing work with anticoagulants and antimicrobials), quality use of medicines, electronic prescribing, and clinical decision support and estimation of renal function.

Mr Dominic Fitchett

Membership category: Lay (the Law)
Date of appointment: 5 July 2019
Current term expires: 5 July 2022

Dominic qualified from the University of Otago with a BA/LLB and is a solicitor at Malley & Co Lawyers in Christchurch. He has practised law in both New Zealand and the United Kingdom, primarily as a property specialist, since 2004.

Ms Amy Henry

Membership category: Non-Lay (Observational Studies)
Date of appointment: 13 August 2021
Current term expires: 16 August 2024

Amy is a registered nurse researcher who promotes and protects the health of Pacific People to ensure Pacific people receive equitable healthcare. Amy was a recipient of the Health Research Council of New Zealand PhD Scholarship 2020 and is striving towards completing a PhD to become a researcher in Pacific Health.

Last modified: